Check mate!

My son is a member of “chess club” at his school.  The chess season is coming to an end – they had their school tournament and our school came 2nd overall – YAY!!  It was Luke’s first year in chess, and he loves it and thinks he’s a pro – ha ha!  So, as things come to an end, I must thank the parent volunteer, and the 2 teacher sponsors who made the club happen.  THANKS!

About the card…..I got inspiration from the Stampin’ Up online showcase (for demos only) and loved the layout that Candy Rattray did.  She’s a talented crafter, so be sure to see her blog at http://www.sweetstamper.com/.  The “Game Night” stamp set is actually retired (as is the designer paper I used), but I love everything came together to be a really “full” and multi-layered “chess” card.  I heat embossed the image to get a richer appeal and I distressed every 2nd layer of the papers.  I used sticky strip for the folded ribbon technique and lots of dimensionals throughout the project.  And a great technique I learned from my superstar demo – Carrie Gaskin, is to cut very thin strips of cardstock and tie in buttons to look like ribbon!  Brilliant.

Hope you like…..if you’d like to purchase supplies, please leave me a message.

Leave a Reply

