KA-POW KREATIVE CHALLENGE #2

Here’s the challenge sketch:

This is the 2nd challenge of my amazing friend and upline, Carrie Gaskin, the Artistic Avenger.  Challenges post every 2nd Tuesday and will run for a week.  Superheroes (winner) and Sidekicks (honourable mentions) will be posted the following Monday after the challenge.  Check out the details HERE.  Play along and make sure you post your creation to Carrie’s “comments” – earn a badge for your own blog!!  Here’s the link to KKC02 post: 

http://artisticavenger.com/ka-pow-kreative-challenge/current-kkc-challenge

Card details:

So I’ll start off my admitting I’m a huge procrastinator and I completed this card literally moments before I would be cut off, so the glaring error could not be fixed….the newsprint DSP is sideways!!!  😦  Other than that, I’m quite happy with the result.  I started with a card base of Cherry Cobbler card stock.  Then I used a layer of Very Vanilla under the piece in Baja Breeze that I embossed with the stripes embossing folder.  The main piece is cut from the Top Notes die in Basic Black and also the newsprint DSP, but I folded the DSP along the centre so the black layer was obvious.  I used a stamp from the new Hostess stamp set “Happiest Birthday Wishes” (pg. 10 in the catalogue) and stamped several times in 3 different colours, punched out and layered.  It’s hard to see in the photo, but I lined the edges of the Baja Breeze centre circle with my 2-way glue pen and added some Dazzling Diamonds to “bling” it up a bit.  I added some other touches:  paper piercing, brads, circle punch detail on top corner, ribbon and TA-DAH, it’s a card that resembles the sketch.

Here’s a closer detail and the inside of the card. 

        

BE SURE TO CHECK OUT THE OTHER CHALLENGE ENTRIES AT:  http://artisticavenger.com/ka-pow-kreative-challenge/current-kkc-challenge

7 Comments »

  1. lindasw Said:

    I love the way that you folded the top top note so that the black layer shows. I struggled with that concept! Love all of your details!

  2. Anita Krul Said:

    I love the way you did the mirror image of the sketch… and the way you dressed up the inside of the card… that’s something I definitely should do more of!

  3. carolemac1 Said:

    Marnie – I LOVE everything about this card – even the sideways DSP 🙂 Especially the layered scalloped embellishment – its gorgeous, cant believe you even dazzled the edge!! But naturally it was the general colour scheme that got me right away – you speaking my language, girl!! Then we even did the inside…great job!!

  4. I really like this, Marnie. Especially the sideways paper. Great colours and a wonderful take on the sketch!

  5. marniemiller Said:

    Thanks for the comments – it’s so cool to get a message in my “inbox” to say someone left me a comment. Makes my day!!

  6. These colors are great together and I love your layering of the scalloped circles! The inside is just perfect–love the circle stamped off the edge. Great job!

    • marniemiller Said:

      Thanks Nance – it’s the first time I decorated the inside of a card and I loved the result and am glad to see many people comment on it! Your blog is great and I intend to visit it frequently 🙂
      Marnie


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

