Ka-Pow Kreative Challenge #4 – Joy of Christmas!

This is the 4th challenge from the Artistic Avenger and you can play along too!  Check out the details HERE, but make sure you click on the current challenge to see this week’s sketch!

Finally, I’m starting to see things Christmas-y and decided to take this challenge and go for it.  I used non-traditional Christmas colours:  Night of Navy, Wisteria Wonder, Pool Party, but I’m really happy with the results.

I used the snowburst embossing folder on a layer of Wisteria Wonder paper, then took a sponge dauber inked with Night of Navy and sponged randomly to give some shadowing.  I used a layer of the new designer paper from the Holiday Mini, SPICE CAKE (I love this grouping!!) and punched the bottom edge with the SCALLOP TRIM BORDER.  Next I used sticky strip to hold down the Pool Party  RUFFLED RIBBON and cut the edges to mimic the challenge sketch.  Again, I used multiple layers of the same stamp, PERFECT PUNCHES (pg.140) and different coloured ink on each layer.  The back layer has a rim of DAZZLING DIAMONDS and I paper pierced the scallops.  I also used a light spraying of VANILLA SHIMMER SMOOCH SPRITZ on the top circle (Joy at Christmas), but it’s awfully hard to see in the photo.  And ended off with lots of dimensionals and a couple RHINESTONE accents for more effect.

Here’s some close ups:

    

What do you think??  Let me know…

8 Comments »

  1. carolemac1 Said:

    WOW Marnie love this – love that we both went with ‘untraditional’ holiday colours.
    I am so impressed with your concept of stamping in colour onto another colour – sadly I can only see ink onto white or vanilla – thx for allowing me to see how beautifully this can work. your layering on the circle is gorgeous esp with the diamonds on the bottom layer. GORGEOUS!!

    • marniemiller Said:

      Oh Carole, how little credit you give yourself. And yes, great minds think alike – both of us untraditional…..I think that goes without saying, no?!!

  2. lindasw Said:

    What a great colour combo–I love how well pool party works here! And I am impressed with your adherence to the original design-kudos my friend! The sponged night of navy gives the card great depth!

    • marniemiller Said:

      Thanks Linda, but you know my need to follow the rules 😉 Thanks for all the comments!

  3. lindasw Said:

    I forgot to say how I like the rhinestones–those are a great accent to the card.

  4. Can I comment here or is this a private conversation? 🙂

    Marnie this is absolutely lovely. Great colour choices and so many wonderful little details.

  5. Anita Krul Said:

    I’ll intrude in the conversation as well.

    I love your card… the un-traditional holiday colors and all those little layers! Love ’em! Thanks for your kind comment on my blog as well!

    Ciao for now!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

