It’s all about the journey – Ka-Pow Kreative Challenge #5

It’s time for the next KAPOW Kreative Challenge from Carrie Gaskin, the Artistic Avenger.  Click HERE to participate in the challenge and see the other entries.

My card came as the result of some sad news from my son’s Principal.  He will be off for awhile to have surgery to remove a cancerous lesion and I wanted to make a card to let him know we wish him well in his recovery.  I felt the “journey” theme was appropriate here.

 I immediately thought of the nautical theme when I saw the colour challenge, and it’s a perfect set to use for a masculine card. HOWEVER, I made a tiny error in the challenge and used Night of Navy paper instead of Not Quite Navy!!! Oh well, the effect is pretty much the same. Here’s my take on the colour challenge.

I started with a NIGHT OF NAVY base, layering with distressed BAJA BREEZE and then a torn SAHARA SAND.  I sponged some NIGHT OF NAVY ink around the torn edge for a more blended effect.  I stamped the sailboat image from OPEN SEA stamp set (carry over from the Summer Mini brochure) and continued to stamp without re-inking to get the shadow effect.  I used BAKER’S TWINE in Early Espresso and tied a unique knot on the side.  I used 3/8″ TAFFETA RIBBON in Night of Navy and 1/8″ TAFFETA RIBBON in Real Red folded and attached with a black brad from the retired Antique Brad pkg.  I stamped the word “journey” in Night of Navy onto Baja Breeze paper from the retired set IN A WORD and punched it out with the MODERN LABEL PUNCH (adhered with dimensionals).  I stamped the “journey” definition from the retired set DEFINE YOUR LIFE in Sahara Sand.  Then I layered the “compass” stamp from OPEN SEA (stamped in Sahara Sand onto Baja Breeze) and distressed the edges of the punched circle and layered onto a circle of Night of Navy and then a torn circle punch of Real Red (attached with dimensionals).

Here’s a close up of the “journey” definition:

And the inside:

**Positive thoughts going your way, Mr. Rourke!**

3 Comments »

  1. Anita Krul Said:

    How sweet of you! I love the ‘motion’ of the sailing ship! Great job!

  2. carolemac1 Said:

    aaahh what a sad situation – just a beautiful thought and card. MM; you did a beautiful job – i love the tie off of the twine as well as the corner embellishment. Plus inside decoration – just so impressive!!!

  3. carriegaskin Said:

    A very fitting card for a very difficult situation. This is a lovely creation, Marnie.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

